This white-oak peg was one of 3,000 used in the mortise and tenon construction of the Palmyra Covered Bridge over the Rivanna River, built in 1884 by…
The archival collection of the Louisa County Historical Society is housed at the Sargeant Museum, 214 Fredericksburg Ave, Louisa, Virginia. All…
This exhibit shows the African American experience after the Civil War (during the years known as Reconstruction) up to 1900.
Recently Added Items
Trial of those involved in the Boxley Slave Revolt.
The trail occurred about a week after the incident.
At a Court of Oyer and Terminar held…see more
Louisa County Will Book 13 page 260 includes the considerable number of enslaved people in the estate of Captain William Michie. see more
#409 Sarah Jackson, bright mulatto woman, age 18 years, 5'11" high, black eyes, straight black hair, good countenance, scar on index finger of left…see more
These records can provide clues to recreate Vital Records for people who were enslaved from 1742-1865 in Louisa County: births, deaths, marriages…see more
View All Items